reflection on feedback : end of part three

Version 3

photo: incredibly just a few weeks after I finished drawing an abandoned factory for Assignment Three it was demolished. These huge tanks were also on my wish list to draw but now they’ve been taken away. No doubt they will be replaced by a shopping centre.

I hadn’t felt that confident about my work in part three. I’m not sure if this is something to do with getting half way. At the beginning of the course I surprised myself with some of the drawings (in a good way). But this last part I found difficult and I was unsure of all the work I produced. Come half way am I expecting more? Have I become more critical? Or was the work simply not as good.

After postal problems last time around I agreed with my tutor not to post – which made it harder for her to assess – and I’m worried that my work looks better online than in the flesh. So we’ll battle it out with the post again next time.

things to revisit:

(assignment two I still need to tweak)

‘composition’ of gates – will really try to make time to have another crack at this, using the six square grid as suggested. Not sure what this is, so need to investigate. This drawing had frustrated me as I liked the subject but it was evading capture.

‘townscapes’ of statue – aspects of this I was pleased with though I could see that the whole hadn’t worked. Thankfully my tutor has given quite direct (constructive) criticism – “needs more work. It is a little bland overall and could have benefitted from some more colour”. So I know that I need to really push at it. I think I had wanted to make something really beautiful and mysterious – and in wanting that I lost my nerve – this is no place to be timid.

other feedback:

My tutor picked up, as I have done, on a ‘narrative’ throughout my work, and my pointer for the next assignment is “embrace the atmospheric/dystopian graphic novel style imagery as this appears to be your voice or style coming through.” I do seem to see things this way – though I’m hoping this is a romantic rather than a dark side coming though. I’ve always been drawn to old factories, cargo ships, wasteland and shadows more interesting than the object that has cast them. Also the question arises whether I have considered illustration, which I haven’t, though I can see it’s a direction I shouldn’t dismiss.

Overall my tutor had lots of positive encouragement which has left me absolutely fired up for part four and to produce some work that I feel more confident about.

Past feedback and focus points

Below I’ve cut and pasted things to focus on from part one and two – ruled out when I’ve covered it – just to keep me on track.

  • practice elipses but keep at it!
  • do my preparatory work on bigger sheets before moving on to A1, rather than going straight from A4 to A1 – this makes so much sense and I can’t believe I needed someone to tell me…
  • make a clearer divide in my sketchbooks from one assignment to the next I’m using my sketchbooks more so they are filling up for each part now anyway.
  • consider your own style and strong points such as perspective, architecture, mood narrative, atmosphere
  • consider cinematic opportunities and developing them further when possible.  

and from my own reflection:

  • push myself to experiment more don’t lose sight of this
  • really try to get to grips with the different media (especially coloured pencils, pastels) and try out different papers – use contact SAA from tutor for trial papers
  • yet more messing about before committing to the drawing – don’t be frightened to make mistakes make mistakes!

and specifically:

  • fix the perspective  problems on my assignment two floor tiles and the area around the shadow
  • make time to have a go at a real fish, after my trying time with the fake ones – would love to have a go at Turner’s gurney. go back and have another go

and as a reminder I’m adding some of the part one key points in here too:

  • plan the drawings better with light pencil so they fit the space
  • avoid drawing outline of an object – investigate how the object meets the space
  • develop more experimental drawings before committing to the final – to get a better idea of how something may work (for example with my idea to block in random objects, which didn’t really work)
  • try out sketching white on black! have been doing quite a bit of this

Leave a Reply

