l’atelier indigo – work in progress from the weekly art class I take locally

fullsizeoutput_e50

This is my first real attempt at painting – using gouache – and nothing but a palette knife!

I’m learning a huge amount – mostly about mixing colour – it’s been such a challenge to try to mix up the same colour every Wednesday when I go to class. Each limb so far has been done on a different week and it shows! I’ve tried to even things out but the paint gets thicker and harder to lay a coat down on top.

I had wanted this to be monochrome in shades of sand but I’ve gone astray – mixing up too many different colours and straying too far from my basic colour rather than simply adding black or white.

The hair and shadow of the arm are also too dark and too ‘cold’ in colour.

Part of me would love to start over with what I’ve already learnt, but I also see this as a documentation of mistakes that I can learn from, so it’s worth continuing – I am quite sure there are more mistakes to come with the second figure!

Leave a Reply

