reflection on feedback: part two

fullsizeoutput_dc4

I’m really delighted with the feedback from part two. I did have some shaky moments through this part, and despite that lack of confidence I was at the same time pleased with some of the pieces I had done. Even though they lacked finesse and I some problems with perspective and the media I’d chosen,  I had got across the atmosphere I wanted and my tutor picked up on that.

From the feedback on part two, the key things I take are:

  • practice elipses
  • do my preparatory work on bigger sheets before moving on to A1, rather than going straight from A4 to A1 – this makes so much sense and I can’t believe I needed someone to tell me…
  • make a clearer divide in my sketchbooks from one assignment to the next
  • consider your own style and strong points such as perspective, architecture, mood narrative, atmosphere
  • consider cinematic opportunities and developing them further when possible.  

and from my own reflection:

  • push myself to experiment more
  • really try to get to grips with the different media (especially coloured pencils, pastels) and try out different papers
  • yet more messing about before committing to the drawing – don’t be frightened to make mistakes

and specifically:

  • fix the perspective  problems on my assignment two floor tiles and the area around the shadow
  • make time to have a go at a real fish, after my trying time with the fake ones – would love to have a go at Turner’s gurney.

and as a reminder I’m adding some of the part one key points in here too:

  • plan the drawings better with light pencil so they fit the space
  • avoid drawing outline of an object – investigate how the object meets the space
  • develop more experimental drawings before committing to the final – to get a better idea of how something may work (for example with my idea to block in random objects, which didn’t really work)
  • try out sketching white on black!

Leave a Reply

