part two: project three: at home

exercise one: quick sketches around the house

fullsizeoutput_d05

fullsizeoutput_d00

I live part of my week in the historic centre of Aix-en-Provence. The apartment is ancient, eccentric and crumbling, with scary cracks, falling plaster and balconies that can only hold the weight of one pigeon at a time. But it’s also beautiful and elegant, and crammed full of ghosts from Aix’s noble past.

img_1770

The ceilings are incredibly high, windows are full length and mirrored doors divide rooms.

fullsizeoutput_cfd

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My favourite view is from the sofa looking up into the mantelpiece mirror and seeing the crazy chandelier and a further reflection in a mirrored door. This hasn’t come across here – it feels like an impossible feat of draughtsmanship to get that tunnel of mirrors onto a sketchbook page.

It’s been very tricky fitting floor to ceiling in one picture. I start out with good intentions and soon run out of room for my room. Focusing on one part seems to be the answer. I  like the intrigue of this corner of the floor  – it’s shouting out – “it’s there! can’t you see it? the thing is right there!”

fullsizeoutput_d04                               fullsizeoutput_d06

Looking up in the same corner is less interesting. The lamp makes extravagant shadows but that’s about it. The doorway into the hall, sketched from a chair – I think this sketch worked quite well – there’s an intrigue – the door leads to a corridor with more doors – light floods out of them, the hall itself is dark. Who has opened the door?

fullsizeoutput_d01

The problem I’m having with this exercise is that I live between two places – I’m just getting into the rhythm of Aix and I go scuttling back to the countryside.

These three sketches are the same room, done perched on the back of the sofa. fullsizeoutput_d2eThe armchair corner is my favourite spot in the house, but I think drawing a wall full of art will be problematic – I need to see how/if other artists have tackled this. My perspective on the bottom picture right wall has gone a bit awry…

The viewpoint with the guitar has become all about the guitar. Ceilings are high here too, I need to pull back to give the eye somewhere else to look. fullsizeoutput_d2dSo I think the most successful of these is the view of stairs that lead off the room.

 

 

 

img_1801

 

Leave a Reply

